Lily Chen
Femme Fatale
Published in
1 min readJul 27, 2017

--

I love the sense of humor in this article!

As a feminist, and a female engineer, I make it a point to be approachable and not get upset at people for their missteps or assumptions of me in this industry”

I completely agree with this view point. I don’t feel the need to try to prove anything to anyone; nor do I do it. I think it’s honestly kind of silly to get upset by someone else’s assumption. Empathy and open communication are much better.

To be entirely honest though, I’ve also never really felt “not taken seriously” or be discriminated against because of my gender or my looks (in the tech industry). As far as I can remember, I’ve never had someone be like “Really? You’re an engineer?” or “Really? You went to MIT?” Maybe I’m just lucky and all the places I’ve worked at and people I’ve met are generally open-minded. But that should also be a good indicator that tech culture is going in the right path right? :)

In any case, great article!

--

--

Lily Chen
Femme Fatale

Senior software engineer at Datadog. I write about tech and life. Portfolio: https://lilychencodes.com/