Header art by Annie Yiling Wang (image source)

Cinemeh: A Former Pretentious Film Student Rebuilds Her DVD Collection

Diana Le
Femsplain

--

In 2005 my family got a subscription to Netflix. I was in the 8th grade and was the only one who actually used it. I would spend all day browsing movie titles and building my queue. Back then our membership allowed us 10 hours of streaming a month. I remember sitting at the family computer in the dining room watching “Breasts: A Documentary” and “Welcome to the Dollhouse”.

I loved film, and I wanted a collection that reflected it. I began collecting movies on VHS from thrift stores and Half Price Books because 1) the only VCR in the house was in my room so I could watch “Big Fat Liar” every night before bed and 2) they were affordable at $0.49-$1.99 each. Over the next few years I’d amassed hundreds of tapes and a good number of DVDs as well. People began to know me as the girl who liked movies, and I liked that.

In college I gravitated to the film classes and completely abandoned my intended major of Communications for Cinema Studies two years in, after having taken six film classes and not a single prerequisite for Communications. I had a blast. I was all, “I can’t believe we get to sit around and talk about movies!” I loved listening to lectures and class discussions, but talking socially to the other pretentious film students terrified me. “What if they find out I thought ‘Requiem for a Dream’ was boring? Or that I haven’t seen ‘Psycho’? I can’t be a real film student!”

I spent all of college trying to keep up with my peers, maintaining the illusion that I knew what I was talking about and that I deserved to be there. My film collection was part of that. During a period where I was moving around a lot, I was forced to consider why I was toting around all these movies — a surprising portion of which I’d never seen or didn’t even like. I realized that the film collection I’d been building since middle school was a way to seek intellectual validation — I wanted people to think I was the type of girl who owned a lot of films. I remember seeing a scene in “The O.C.” where Taylor is in Seth’s room, sees his “House of Flying Daggers” or “Hero” poster, I can’t remember which, and they gushed about how cool it was that they both liked Zhang Yimou films. I wanted a boy to come into my room and see “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” on my shelf and fall in love with me. But it was also a way to hide and provide evidence if anyone ever questioned my love and devotion. “See, I own all these films!”

I didn’t want to be scared to voice my opinions and tastes anymore. I wanted a clean slate. So I got rid of my entire collection, save for a few, and started over. This time, my collection would be about me, not the me who was hyper aware of what “good” films were and what I should like. I realized that I don’t need to own “Shaun of the Dead” to prove that I liked it. My collection will serve me. There will be no vanity titles. This new collection will be a carefully curated labor of love.

So I am sharing my collection thus far here free of fear, shame, irony or guilt.

Bubblegum Cinema

  • Sleepover
  • A Cinderella Story
  • Another Cinderella Story
  • A Cinderella Story: Once Upon a Song
  • Picture This
  • New York Minute
  • The Princess Diaries

Chain-Smoking Hipster

  • Bottle Rocket
  • Rushmore
  • The Royal Tenenbaums
  • Marie Antoinette
  • An Education

Cult Boyfriend

  • The Cake Eaters
  • Good Bye, Lenin!
  • Welcome to Dongmakgol
  • In the Land of Women

Spoopy Haunts

  • Joshua
  • Lo
  • The Dead Inside
  • The Loved Ones
  • My Sucky Teen Romance

Camp Rock

  • Almost Famous
  • High Fidelity
  • Empire Records
  • Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist
  • Detroit Rock City
  • Across the Universe

Clearance Bin Gems

  • Assault of the Killer Bimbos
  • Home Fries
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  • Just One of the Guys
  • Adventures in Babysitting

Rom Com Feels

  • Fever Pitch
  • Keeping the Faith
  • 500 Days of Summer

--

--