Easing Into The City

Kiana Kimberly Flores
Femsplain

--

I moved to Davao City three or so years ago, with a luggage full of fiction books, blank journals and pens (also with a heart longing for adventure). I am from a small, humble town in a province rich with natural resources and beautiful sceneries. I came here to study at a Catholic school, hoping to bag that Liberal Arts degree.

Kiana 1

The first week I was here, I was stoked. College seemed to be pretty fine, then. I established new friendships and got to meet new people.

Kiana 2

But my feelings took over, which led me to decide to drop out of school.

Kiana 3

Since then, my life has become an amalgam of doors opening and closing…

Kiana 4

of dreams realized and of dreams abandoned

Kiana 5

of goodbyes to toxic people and hellos to sparkly ones

Kiana 6

of late night walks

Kiana 7

of journalling and crying

Kiana 8

of listening to new music and listening to myself

Kiana 9
Kiana 10

of not feeling pressured to decide on which step to take next in this helluva journey that is life

Kiana 11
Kiana 12
Kiana 13

of finding comfort in myself.

--

--