Header via Flickr

Finding My Voice As A Muslim Feminist

Nashwa Lina K.
Published in
6 min readNov 23, 2015

--

On Twitter, I have found spaces carved out by people like me. This is a rare thing for me and many “others.” I know that with a simple tweet, search or direct message, I can find resources, opportunities and most importantly, support. Twitter helped me find community but also guided me when I needed some answers about the internalized misogyny, racism and ableism I’ve held and continue to hold. Some people, White feminists included, will dismiss Twitter as toxic but this raises a main question — Twitter is toxic for who? Although I myself have taken leaves from Twitter due to online harassment — sometimes even harassment from my own community — I still find the space to have a community of feminist Muslim women located globally. And even when I deactivate Twitter, women of color check in with me; sometimes I find them caring more about my mental health and well-being more than people I know “in real life.” Many of the Muslim women I’ve met on Twitter have become some of my closet friends.

I feel like many gnawing conflicting thoughts from my childhood were left untouched in compartmentalized boxes that I never unpacked. I grew up in Florida, where most of my adolescence was spent wondering why people disliked Muslims and how a few represented the whole. My family moved to Canada to get away from racism, but it followed. I went to high school in Oakville, Canada, a place known for two things: wealth and White people. I spent high school and the bulk of my undergrad years embarrassingly distancing myself from other Muslims but also questioning where I had community.

As a mixed race kid who isn’t a swirl (vanilla being white and the chocolate being a type of brown), I never quite fit in with either of my racial communities. I was like a puzzle piece that had gotten soggy and dried swollen, ill-fitting and awkwardly squeezed into the picture sometimes, but more preferably thrown out. Usually, people find solace and home in their cousin groups or ethnic groups but I was always too “Paki” for Arabs and too Arab for Pakistanis.

I kind of grew up falsely thinking hoping I was white.

Microaggressions flew over my head, ignored, packed, loaded, a coping mechanism for survival. As I became familiar with reclamation and feminism, I found myself alone. I could list my identities but couldn’t find my people or navigate a mixed race identity. Through Twitter I’ve found my footing in my identity and continue to re-learn how to articulate it.

Today if I have a question about something Pakistani, I do not hesitate to ask girl groups I’ve formed consisting of South Asian feminists I’ve met through twitter. If I have a question about my Moroccan half, I can ask my mom but similarly have found communities through social media.

Many of these Twitter friends I have met in real life and talk to daily. They have transitioned from Internet friends to women that I hope I’ll be lifelong friends with. These friendships are invaluable and I would have never made them offline. Our paths would have never crossed with people so alike at different intersections. When I find myself in homogenous spaces — whether in a classroom, work, or student senate — I have my feminist friendships that I’ve forged online that keep me going.

My knowledge base is not from women’s studies classes, something I see many women citing but also something that I do not have the mobility to take. My feminist education, rather, comes largely from women of color, specifically Black women on Twitter. I would argue this informal women’s studies education has been more enlightening than one that would’ve been produced in a classroom setting.

This Fall I was feeling alone, and the mental health concerns I’ve had in the past began crawl up as I started grad school. Part of what has saved me are my connections on Twitter. I found a Black woman in the second year of the same program as me through an event I was attending. I tweeted her letting her know how much her art of oral storytelling gave me hope about being a racialized woman in graduate school, but how I often felt alone. After a follow- and tweet-back, I reached out again. The next week we met and two weeks after that we met again, where she bought me frozen yogurt. In a very real way has saved me — she gives me the mentorship I’ve lacked in education and the big sister affirmation I think I’ve been needing. She lets me know I’m not alone and how to keep my energy going while navigating academia, but also a handful of resources I would have been slow to find as a first-generation student.

Similarly, on Twitter I found a professor who was following me. The first time we met, it was like finding the professor of my dreams. I know she is a text away when I need help or am feeling insecure. She assured me that I have every right to ask for things in graduate school because White men do it with such confidence, so why can’t I?

Recently I’ve started to wonder if other women who have identities on the margin find this same feeling of being alone together. I also wondered if they’ve had positive experiences moving the connections into the real world. Although, arguably I can see the Internet as indeed being the real world, I talked to some other Muslim women I admire to find out.

For Shireen Ahmed, whose favorite social media platform is Twitter, she’s “been really blessed to have found allies and friends who have become close friends via Twitter.”

Like me, Shireen also writes, specifically about women of color and Muslim women in sports. She reflected on this saying to me, “There isn’t a huge community. But I have found articles, writers, activists and athletes in the Twitterverse. Those connections have become fellow advocates and in many cases, part of a support system. We rant. We RT. We share. And we favourite. Sometimes we disagree. But there is an appreciation of ideas. And a shared understanding that we deserve to take up space.“

Shireen went on to say many other things that resonated with me about boosting the work of other women of color, as Twitter has been a space so generous to her. But she also shared a similar precautionary measure for when the Internet can get mentally exhausting for her.

“There can be a certain level of toxicity but with other women there, I feel that support is waiting,” she explained. “Sometimes, logging off for self-care is essential. During those times, the women who reach out to you have your back and care about your well-being.”

Nishi Fatima, who goes by @the_anecdoubtal on Twitter, also shared some of her insights of her experience of social media.

“The friendships have been supportive and educational. I have learned a lot from these ladies and they have provided a safe space for me to express my ideas and grow on issues such as appropriation and representation.”

As to why she values social media spaces, she continued by saying, “[t]he vast amount of diverse voices, that are otherwise voiceless, are able to unite to support each other and advocate for each other and for underrepresented communities.”

I can relate to this, as the bulk of my support system when it comes to academia is arguably from connections I’ve established through Twitter. She continued, “[b]eing able to connect with these ladies and engage in respectful, safe, intellectual and important conversations make all the other Twitter crap worth it. I feel incredibly more informed about a variety of issues thanks to these relationships, even if we don’t agree 100% of the time.”

Mental health and well-being is something I struggle with often. Working multiple jobs and being in graduate school full time as a first generation student piled on with other obligations that come in hand with my social reality. Twitter started as a space for me to unpack, rant and complain, but has morphed into so much more for me and many others. I now try to reciprocate the friendships and resources I’ve gained by mentoring younger Muslim women, sharing knowledge I learn and answering questions I receive from women or re-directing them to better resources.

The romanticism of Twitter can often outweigh the Brads and Beckies in my mentions harassing me. I know when I need a brown girl pal that believes in shine theory, I have them. And now beyond Twitter, they’re a text or call away.

--

--

Nashwa Lina K.

@HYACommittee Chair / Status of Women #HamOn | Premed Hopeful | Perpetual Student | Political Junkie | Living life in the pursuit of happiness