Header art by Fabiola Lara

Homewrecker

Treat Harpy
Femsplain
Published in
2 min readAug 7, 2015

--

“Home-wrecker” they called me,

But this, I am not.

Not sure why they worried

Not sure why they fought.

I’m just a friendly,

I’m just passing through.

That man made me laugh,

He was just passing, too.

Did I know he was yours?

Did I know you had claim?

Maybe I did,

But I still feel no shame.

For I’m a free agent

and I do as I please.

Sorry not sorry

if this brings you unease.

I have no other motive,

not moving in for the kill.

But his jokes are clever

and laughing gives me a thrill.

I treat him no different

than any other man

But you do not see this —

You see a false plan.

You think that I’ll swoop

when the timing is right,

to steal him away,

running into the night.

You smile to my face,

then spit at my back.

I mourn for your man,

and the confidence you lack.

You’ll never be happy

if you peck and pester.

Mistrust will grow roots

and soon flourish, then fester.

You’ll blame it on me

but the truth really is,

I was just passing through

when my gaze met his.

We had an exchange

but nothing much more.

Yet now I’m home-wrecker,

a bitchslutcuntwhore!

I carry these names

though they do not feel like mine.

I just hope that they fade

and lose weight over time.

I have no ill will.

I understand that it’s hard

to keep your composure

when your comforts are jarred.

Jealously cannot sub

for passion or care.

You must know in your heart

whether true love is there.

Be flattered, be proud

that he catches more than one eye!

And KNOW that you, too,

Have the attentions of more than one guy.

So walk tall, side-by-side

and don’t hover or guard.

And please next time think twice

Before dealing the “home-wrecker” card!

--

--