Header art by Fabiola Lara

I’ll Totally Wear These Overalls Year-Round And Other Lies I Tell Myself

Caj
Femsplain
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2015

--

Gurl, I know you have been down this path before. It’s been a long day, everyone’s blown you off for happy hour and you REALLY struggled getting dress this morning. Relief from the stresses of life can come from only one thing: shopping.

OK, so maybe you’re not me. Maybe you have more restraint, and the feeling of having more money owed on your credit card than in your bank account actually makes you worrisome. Maybe you don’t get anxiety from seeing flash sale emails that make it impossible to focus on work until you have found the best deal on an MM6 bag.

The worst part about all this behavior: I KNOW WHAT I AM DOING.

I am actually sabotaging my own wallet by sugar-coating the reasons why I need these items. But in my defense, I started my career in an extremely superficial part of the industry, trying out samples I could never afford and wondering how I could dress on the level of the editors and assistants (not yet realizing a key part of this is rich parents).

This is an actual problem now in the sense that I spend a lot of money on unwanted clothes. I’m an adult now with student loans and healthcare taken out of my paycheck. I can’t throw around my money anymore. I’m tired of cleaning out my closet every season and finding all my regretful purchases. It’s like the ghost of trend outfit’s past.

So here we go… I admit it. These are the lies I tell myself when I am shopping to justify my purchases and whatever fucked-up stuff I can say to myself when I see a 50% off sale.

“You have all these cropped pants and no shirts to wear with it.”

On basic needs level, I don’t need to buy any new tops. However, in terms of styling and looking cute, this is different. I find myself in this situation a lot: I try on an item in store and fall in love, but I never stop and think about how it actually will become a real outfit. This only further develops into a chain of lies I tell myself to confirm the tops I buy are needed to complete an outfit. OH AND ALSO, all the tops I buy for this one article of clothing don’t always work. Such is life.

“You need a new dress for *insert event here*.”

I am the worst offender at the “buys new dress for every event” steeze. This is not because I rarely attend formal events, making this an occasional event, but because — in my own twisted opinion — most events in my life are worthy of good outfits, and purchasing them becomes an almost weekly situation. But you guys know how necessary a cool and trendy outfit is needed to see Makonnen at a club (only to get $20 drinks spilled on all of it).

“You’ve always wanted to try out this look!”

This is the excuse I always I give myself when I’ve had a long week. It boils down to: This work week was hard, so I deserve this pair of white overalls. In reality, no one needs a pair of pants that is only socially acceptable for three months (since I live in the northeast and not LA). Not to mention that overalls never look cute with a coat, so they are hopeless in the winter. No, really — I’ve been down that awkward path.

“This version is so much better than that *insert clothing item here* you already own.”

C’mon Beyoncé, upgrade me, plz. We all have our favorites in our wardrobe: timeless pieces that look good forever and, if not from Zara, I will take to the grave. However, in this fast fashion world, those are hard to come by. One month you thought oversized denim pants were a vibe; next, you want nothing more than slim-fit Vetements jeans the price of your paycheck.

I am aware there is a lot more to life than wearing an outfit that will get someone to take a street style photo of you. Trust me, I know — I think fashion bloggers are pointless, too. However, I also truly believe clothing is a language that allows you to express how you feel. It’s a strong part of identifying history, and with it, you can display your true identity. That being said, I vow I will make better choices from this point on. I will invest in vintage Louis Vuitton, LVMH award-winning Marques Almeida and 1990’s Helmut Lang… not because I feel fashion-forward in these garments, but because they are physical statements I believe in. And that’s something that can’t be bought.

--

--