Internet Interactions With Lena Dunham

Femsplain
Femsplain
3 min readNov 4, 2014

--

This is the story of my first interaction with Lena Dunham. If you don’t know who Lena Dunham is, she’s the mastermind behind the HBO show “Girls” and the indie flick “Tiny Furniture.” In other words, she gets me… and all the other college students and 20-something women of this generation.

But to understand my first interaction with Lena Dunham, we must rewind to October 2012, when Lena noted she was thoroughly enjoying Taylor’s new album, “Red.”

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 2.00.09 PM

(Please note the fact that she just put Taylor Swift and Sylvia Plath in the same tweet. I never thought I’d see the day that would happen, but I digress…)

Now imagine my excitement when Lena Dunham was tweeting about my favorite artist?

My stream of consciousness: “I love Taylor Swift’s new album too! Hey we’re listening to the same music! Oh my gosh, this is truly what happens when two worlds collide!”

At this point, you’ve most likely deduced that I am both a supporter of Lena Dunham and Taylor Swift. I’ve been listening to Taylor Swift since 2007 and have loved Lena Dunham since I found “Tiny Furniture” on a late Netflix binge… and since then I’ve never looked back. Both Lena and Taylor have an opportunity to shed light on some important issues since they’ve gained a successful following from their work, and they have used this privilege positively. Basically, I just want to be friends with Lena Dunham and Taylor Swift (if you’re reading, Taylor and Lena, you can shoot me a MySpace message!)

This brings us to March 2013. Lena Dunham experienced a Taylor Swift concert for the first time, and this was the aftermath:

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 2.05.11 PM

Again, this is what happens when two worlds collide. So when I was scrolling through Twitter and found this tweet, I obviously had to reply!

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 2.05.17 PM

And then it happened…

Lena Dunham favorited my tweet!

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 2.05.23 PM

I know, I know. It’s not an Earth shattering first interaction, but nonetheless this is still something! Lena Dunham appreciated my witty tweet. But now let us take a moment to imagine all of us at a wedding with Lena Dunham and Taylor Swift. That would be a P-A-R-T-Y, PARTY!

This might not be a traditional first, but it still left an impact on me. I truly appreciate the work that Lena Dunham has done in helping to shed a more positive light on feminism, and how Taylor Swift, despite criticism, continues to write the lyrics and make the music she wants to make. I have a strong belief that women should support and stand up for other women, and that is what Taylor Swift and Lena Dunham do. They are strong women who are passionate and well-spoken. They know what they want and don’t let others get them down, and that is what I look for in a role model. I believe that when you surround yourself with driven women, you’ll be amazed at the potential you have and what you can do.

As Lena Dunham is currently promoting her new book “Not That Kind Of Girl” and Taylor Swift is about to put out her new album “1989,” I’ll be keeping an eye on these driven women to see what incredible things they’ll do next.

--

--