Mental Preparation for the Women’s March on Washington

Denise Nichole Andrews
Femsplain
Published in
4 min readJan 18, 2017
Image via Pexels

If you are like me or one of the other hundreds of thousands of people participating in the Women’s March on Washington, Women’s March on Sacramento or other sister march around the globe — then you are convinced that revolutionary change is within reach.

I know of the struggle, of unimaginable pain that permeates every facet of living. I am part of a multicultural population of black Americans who are wrongfully killed, brutalized, or targeted reflected through alarming numbers of police violence, who face disproportionate punitive measures in educational institutions, and barriers to economic opportunity.

My family embodies the remnants of The American Dream, representing a legacy of resilience that is La Raza. I know that my roots are deep, covering vast territories and distances.

And yet my concerns for my family, colleagues, and fellow citizens are often dismissed or belittled. So much so that I faced attacks and harassment from folks who were uncomfortable with my unapologetic brand of intersectional feminism.

I grieved for my country. I mourned the losses. I found myself staying up for nights since I could not calm my nerves. My mind was restless and my fears were plentiful. In my pursuit of social justice, I often found myself alone.

Yet, I know that I am not. I am among comrades. I am among leaders, students, and professionals who are persistent in all that they do. We are not to be feared, criminalized, or punished. We are to be celebrated, loved, and restored.

The feat presented before us is far from easy. The torch has been passed on. Progress is threatened but not thwarted. The contributions from those who are committed to equality, justice, and opportunity have made all the difference. It is within these communities that I am able to find strength. It is within these communities that I am able to practice radical hope.

We must resist all forms of hatred, bigotry, misogyny, and xenophobia. We must stress the importance of affordable access to healthcare for all- regardless of gender, age, or preexisting conditions. Marching, protesting, and demonstrating is all for a purpose — often times many of these initiatives intersect. Remember yours.

When we as a nation — global citizens of this society are freed from the constraints of an oppressive system, we will all advance, but until that day comes we will be diligent in demanding the safety and protection of citizens that are vulnerable. We will persevere and demonstrate the unity that is desperately needed.

When we march, we will outshine the doubters. We will repair our souls, spirits, hearts, and minds. When faced with opposition, we will be fiercely compassionate, bold, and undeterred. We will express our expectations in productive and meaningful ways. We will be bonded by this movement of love and connection by bridging the gaps to understanding and involvement.

As the days draw near to the march(es), practice these affirmations:

  1. I can do this. The path has been carved out for me to succeed and to thrive.
  2. I deserve to be heard. Just as others before me who risked their lives, or whose lives were taken from them when they had no choice but to suffer.
  3. I will not stay silent because silence is complicit. (Unless a moment of silence is part of the demonstration.)
  4. I have a right to march and protest peacefully regardless of my political views.
  5. This march will mean something different to everyone, but my experience however personal or political it may be, is mine to have.
  6. I will defend the rights of women, families, and youth who feel unsafe or threatened. I will be respectful of their boundaries and considerate of their identities.
  7. I will abide by the rules of the organization and be mindful of my choices because I care about the children who may also be attending.
  8. Compassion, love, solidarity, inclusion, and integrity are traits that I will display to uphold the mission — whether I am part of an organization, collective, school, group — or if I am simply attending in solidarity.
  9. My mental health is a priority. My physical health is a priority. Reproductive rights and rights for those who face disability or disease are a priority. What I am going through or what my family member/partner is going through doesn’t make us weak and is not an invitation to undermine us. We are still an asset to the team and mission.
  10. When the march and proceeding rallies are dismissed, I will continue to champion women, families, and youth. I will stay true to my convictions and advocate for those who are disadvantaged and targeted. Our humanity is what defines us and I play a part in creating lasting change.

Feeling confident? Feeling good? I sure hope so!

Be sure to make sure that you research the event in your area of choice so that accommodations and expectations are met.

Each march will offer something different for everyone so informing yourself on the basics: location, route, maps, activities, weather, food/drink, performances, sign restrictions/sizes, ways to get involved/volunteer will be crucial to your experience!

January 21, 2017 is the day we join together to make a statement: We will not be intimidated by harmful legislation or reckless tactics. We will not surrender our hopes, dreams, and optimism for the United States. We are the people. We have come so far and the last thing we are going to do is retreat.

--

--

Denise Nichole Andrews
Femsplain

Editor | Lecturer #Blogher17 VOTY Honoree! Dedicated to educational activism, social justice, and health advocacy. Motivated by the arts.