Pumpkin Pie Sugar Cookies

Femsplain
Femsplain
3 min readNov 3, 2014

--

Ingredients:

3 Cups All-Purpose Flour
2 tsp. Baking Powder
1 Cup Granulated Sugar
2 Sticks Salted Butter (cold, and cut into chunks)
1 Egg
¾ tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 Tbsp. Pumpkin Spice Seasoning

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder and pumpkin spice seasoning.
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment until fluffy, and light in color (this will take about 3 minutes on second speed)
  4. Scrape the bowl down with a rubber spatula, then add the egg and the vanilla extract, mix until completely incorporated.
  5. Add the flour mixture all at once and pulse the mixer until the dough just starts to come together. It will be crumbly and clumpy but should hold together if you squeeze a handful together.
  6. Dump the dough out onto the table and knead it together until it forms a smooth ball.

For the Royal Icing, I used a HALF BATCH of sweetsugarbelle’s recipe.

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.16.03 PM

Get all your ingredients together (I usually do this right after I preheat the oven)

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.22.44 PM

This dough doesn’t need to be refrigerated before you use it!! Which is one of the reasons this is my go-to cut out cookie recipe. (PS: If you don’t want pumpkin spice cookies, just don’t add the pumpkin pie spice, and you’ll have a plain vanilla sugar cookie!)

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.26.52 PM
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.27.43 PM
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.31.08 PM
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.31.31 PM

While you’re waiting for the cookies to cool, make the royal icing! When you make it you should follow sweetsugarbelle’s recipe exactly, Sometimes I alternate between the paddle attachment and the whisk attachment to get the consistency I like. Do not add all the water at once. I usually add half gradually and then add more or less as I need it. To make my stiff icing I used slightly more than ¼ cup of water. Then I added another ¼ to get my flooding icing.

You’re going to need pumpkin-pie orange, which I made using orange, and brown. I flood my cookies so I left some stiff to outline the cookies and then made some thinner to flood with.

You’ll also need a light tan color for the crust. I used ivory and brown because I had it but you can also just use a small amount of brown. I also left this a semi-stiff consistency because it’s easier for me to make the ruffle (or the pie crust) with if the icing is stiffer.

You’re also going to need to leave some white for the whipped cream. Which again, I left stiff because I wanted a defined rosette shape for my whipped cream.

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.32.46 PM
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.32.53 PM
Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.35.54 PM

And then you have a photoshoot…

Screen Shot 2014-11-02 at 1.36.59 PM

--

--