“Fast or slow, we’re giving you the tools to grow.”

Quick Ways to De-Stress When You’re in a Hurry

Samantha Puc
Femsplain

--

Despite my best efforts to slow down my days and enjoy each moment as it comes to me, it’s not always possible to live life at a leisurely pace. My job as a full-time barista is a constant reminder of that, as is the rapid-fire way that things just seem to happen on a daily basis.

I like being busy, but it seems like the more I have to accomplish in a given day, the more stressed out I feel. That’s especially true on days when I have to run a lot of errands or make a lot of phone calls. Time management is key on days like that, but getting from place to place can make it difficult to de-stress in between tasks. My anxiety also makes it hard for me to move from one step to the next if I’m scared of what the results may be.

If you also struggle to de-stress when you’re in a hurry, here are some tips I’ve picked up through a lot of trial and error:

Take Deep, Slow Breaths

Focus on your breathing. It’s easy to take quick, shallow breaths that make you feel dizzy and overwhelmed when you’re already harried and trying to get things done. I’ve learned that one of the best ways for me to de-stress and get my body and brain back on track is to breathe slowly and carefully.

Try this: Inhale through your nose and exhale through your mouth, pursing your lips as if you’re blowing out a candle. Count to ten with each inhalation, and then force the air out of your mouth. Not only does this increase oxygenation, which wakes up your brain and your body, it steadies you and makes it easier to keep going. Repeat as needed!

Visualization

This one works a few ways, but there are two visualization techniques I use that help me de-stress when I have mere minutes to spare.

Try this: Imagine you are surrounded by a warm, soft light that keeps you safe and makes you impenetrable and immune to everything happening around you. Picture yourself as a powerful, magical, beautiful being that absolutely nothing can touch. Once you’re confident in that vision, continue with your day.

Or, try this: Imagine you aren’t at work or stuck in traffic or witnessing something distressing on the street. Imagine you are in your favorite place, curled up with a warm cup of your favorite beverage and a cuddly animal (or person!) that loves you. Close your eyes, take a deep breath, and let the safety and happiness of that space seep all through your body until you feel relaxed and ready to take on the world.

Worry Stones/Objects

I always carry a little pouch of crystals and special objects with me, especially when I know I have a lot on my plate for the day. It’s helpful for two reasons:

  1. Having familiar objects stowed somewhere on your person or in your bag can create a feeling of good luck, which will improve your mood and make your day easier to deal with.
  2. Touching or holding familiar objects in moments of stress (I like to keep my pouch somewhere accessible, like in my apron pocket at work) can make those moments seem less overwhelming and help assist with other de-stressing techniques, like deep breathing and/or visualization.

Try this: Wear something small, like a piece of jewelry, that makes you feel grounded in your body and free of stress. Alternately, carry something with you that makes you feel in control. Either way, touch or wear those objects when you’re feeling stressed, and allow your associations with them to wash a wave of calm over you and eliminate some of the overwhelming stuff.

Have Something To Distract You/Calm You Down

I’m addicted to my phone, which can be a blessing or a curse, depending on the day. Recently, I’ve made a conscious effort to have apps on my phone that purposefully distract or calm me in positive ways. I have several games that have quick, easy play rounds as well as some book apps, a few podcast subscriptions, and even a meditation app. All of these help me unplug and de-stress in brief moments of reprieve when I don’t have time to do much else.

Try this: Install a light, easy game app on your phone for quick, non-committal distraction time when you’re feeling stressed and just need a little break to unwind. Alternately, carry a book of poetry, short stories, or essays with you that will keep your interest and pull your mind away from the things that are wigging you out.

Drink Water

As silly as it may sound, staying hydrated makes a huge difference. On days I don’t have enough water, I’m sluggish and snappy, prone to headaches and nausea. Those feelings make my stress levels worse, because I have to continue to work or run errands or make phone calls in spite of them. Having enough water makes a hard day significantly easier, even if it does mean extra bathroom trips — but those allow me time to breathe, visualize, take comfort in familiar objects, or distract myself with a quick read or game! Truly a winning combination.

Try this: Find a cute, reusable water bottle that you like (you can find inexpensive ones at most department stores, or even grocery stores!), fill it with ice and water before you leave your home in the morning, and keep it in your bag. Take sips while you’re commuting, working, shopping, or whatever else you do. When the bottle is empty, fill it at a water fountain or swing through a coffee shop and ask the baristas if they wouldn’t mind filling it for you.

There are so many ways to de-stress when you’re in a hurry, but the five I just described are some of the best ones I’ve discovered. Hopefully one (or more) of these will help you on days where everything seems to be coming at you at once!

What do you do in high-stress situations when you don’t have a lot of time to unwind? Let us know in the comments below!

--

--