Seven days with the Hidrate Spark

Imani Razat
FemTech Weekly
Published in
5 min readAug 6, 2022

How a smart water bottle helped change my health behavior

We’re made of water

When I found myself feeling dizzy and fatigued I checked in with my doctor. My blood test came back with abnormally high liver enzyme levels, which caused me to review my healthy lifestyle habits, looking for what I may have missed. I’m a Black woman, and well aware of health disparities in my community so I try to eat a balanced diet, work out, and I don’t drink alcohol or smoke. The best guess for where I could be imbalanced was my water intake, as drinking enough water has always been a challenge for me.

I’d love it if we were made of soda, coffee, or milk tea. Instead, water is what makes up about 50% to 70% of our body weight. Our bodies depend on water to thrive. Not drinking enough water can cause health problems because without proper hydration it’s harder to rid your body of waste and toxins through sweat, urination and bowel movements. And dehydration is not a good look either, we’re talking dry and itchy skin, wrinkles, bags under your eyes, creaky joints and brittle hair.

Sherri Hoyt, a registered dietitian nutritionist and an outpatient nutrition counselor at Missouri Baptist Medical Center in St. Louis, Missouri, told Forbes that

“Failing to get adequate hydration on a daily basis can be detrimental to just about every aspect of your health.”

It was troubling to learn that in the United States adults who are older and have lower income and education drink less water on average. In addition to social-economic disparities there is also evidence of racial disparity in hydration. Black people drink less water than their white, non-Hispanic counterparts. Unfortunately these health disparities can lead to diseases like diabetes, especially when sugary drinks are preferred over plain drinking water.

My Hidrate Spark smart water bottle and an infographic chart for daily hydration

The purchase

While I wouldn’t consider myself a geek I knew that I needed the help of some cool tech and data tracking to fully embrace this new, water drinking behavior. I did some research and ultimately invested in the Hidrate Spark Pro 21oz insulated stainless steel water bottle. Now instead of relying on my memory, I simply get a buzz on my wrist or peep the flashing, colorful lights on the bottle reminding me that it’s time to drink. I downloaded the Hidrate Spark app, which asked a few questions about age, weight and activity level. Then like magic, I set the bottle to give reminders. I set my bottle to light up eight times per day.

Each time I took a sip, the bottle’s Bluetooth sensors communicated with the app. I could check the app anytime to get real-time data on how much I drink, and how much more water I’ll need to reach my goals. The app sends text messages — some are Star Wars inspired on-liners that get delivered to your Apple Watch or iPhone.

This is how the first week with Hidrate Spark went:

Monday

My bottle was fully charged and ready to fill. I calibrated the bottle to the app by setting it down on a flat surface with my iPhone nearby. I filled up and jumped on a work meeting. I downed the 21 ounces of water on mute so no one could hear my loud guzzling. Maybe the straw option is quieter but I never liked drinking water from a straw, it somehow ruins the taste. Knowing that I was keeping data on my water intake feels comforting and encouraging. By noon I was at 25% of the day’s goal. Besides some minor complaints about the bottle’s design my first day was a success.

Tuesday

I was deep into work when the bottle lit up. It’d been empty and so I got up to fill it. It felt great to stand up and drink. The data in the app changed immediately. I’m getting the hang of this.

Wednesday

It’s hump day and I’m feeling overwhelmed by having another daily task on my plate. Camels have it easy with those water filled humps. When you’re changing a health behavior you can encounter mental and emotional barriers — humans don’t like change. Drinking large amounts of water is starting to feel like a chore but I won’t let myself get discouraged.

Thursday

This has been an eye-opening experience. I now had the data in front of me and it was clear that I wasn’t getting nearly enough water before using the Hidrate Spark.

Friday

It was feeling really good to take a few minutes out of the work week for self-care. Hydration is feeling like less of a burden and more of like a luxury that I give to myself.

Saturday/Sunday

I took a flight from coast to coast and I didn’t experience any of my usual signs of jet lag. I’m feeling way more energetic and less tired. I also find that I’m craving less snacks throughout the day. I read that drinking water may suppress appetite and cravings and may help you lose weight. I find that I crave more hydrating foods, less carbs.

My New Normal

After four weeks with Hidrate Spark, it was time for another blood test. I was so relieved to find that my liver enzyme went on a steep decline. That means that I’m now officially healthy and hydrated. Drinking water is so important. Even without a smart water bottle there are ways to be mindful about your water intake.

Tips for drinking water

  • Invest in a smart water bottle. Prices can range from expensive to more affordable options.
  • Know the guidelines: according to Mayo Clinic, men need about 15.5 cups (3.7 liters) of fluids a day, women need about 11.5 cups (2.7 liters).
  • Keep a filled water bottle, smart or not, where you can see it, at work, home or school.
  • Take breaks to stand and hydrate throughout the day.
  • Don’t depend on soda, coffee, or other sweetened beverages. Water is a healthier option, plus it’s free to fill up a reusable water bottle, this will save both your health and your pockets.
  • Plan ahead, drink the majority of your required daily water when you know that you’ll be near a bathroom.
  • Check the water quality in your community, if it’s poor, fill your bottle with filtered or pre-boiled water whenever possible.

Imani is a writer and communications consultant. She has a Master’s in Communication from John’s Hopkins University.

--

--

Imani Razat
FemTech Weekly

writer, communications consultant-FemTech & health disparities