My Deterioration Defined

FemTruth Spoken-Word Rantings

Silvia Young
FemTruth
4 min readNov 2, 2017

--

Photo Courtesy: You Tube, 31 FemTruths, Global, Patient-Driven, Endometriosis, Advocacy-Campaign 2017

We met year eleven

That’s when my secret revealed itself to me

Each night, I cried and I prayed

While my body was succumbed by

Gnawing, stabbing, twisting, throbbing

I’m drenched in blood and sweat

Being tugged from fight to flight

Clothes wet

I’m collapsed, distressed

A total mess, and sobbing

This is what preparing for his seed feels like?

I’m a girl, not interested, too soon, ewwwww

I’m feeling humiliated, bleeding like this

A scarlet puddle frames my hips

Adding dizzying texture and color to my new bed, the bathroom floor

What’s gushing from my you-know-what?

Is this my coveted red sea?

Silently still pleading

“Dear God, I’m not ready, please not me”

My world’s spinning, I’m nauseated

Body tightly clenched, cheeks toilet-kissed

Lifeless, but surviving

Left in purgatory like this

Coming to, disoriented

Bruising, loss of time

Each month is worse than before, leaving me behind

Year after year after year…

Wearing the repellant, female shame

I’d barely survived

I was so naive about ovulation, but that pain soon came

And sliding right into PMS

I’m a shell of myself, a hollow mess

I’m looking inward to ignite my courage

To kick down this door

To stop this churning furnace

Where the hell is my care?

Where the hell is my cure?

I’m one in ten

Broken black magic women

Santa Maria homegirl

A mystery to the medicine human

My flower too threatening

For toxic zealots

In vain

Living intentionally pure

I was completely blindsided by what developed

The life I earned I ceased living

Born blessed with superior chromoszoning

One with Mother Nature

I’m life giving

Banished to the Tower like Anne Boleyn

Punished for the witchcraft of pre-existing

His expert words stung indignant

“You’re hysterical, promiscuous,”

You should be pregnant.”

Withering in chagrin, and full flush, but cards folded

Menstruation, Ovulation, Procreation

I’m depressed in fruitless denial

Chasing the less traveled road of holistic survival

No interest in bringing my claim to trial

Not my dream to burden friends and family

My unspoken inherited burden, poor me

Sitting pretty on an abundance of estrogen oozing femininity in first-world luxury

Where now?

The expert? The gatekeeper?

One belittles “It’s in your head”,

The next accuses “Drugseeker”

They say pregnancy is the cure to my taboo flow

My squad rained on this baby incubator,

I am so grateful to be glistening in glow

My womb is oven ready, enjoying menses reprieve

Something’s wrong. My glow’s gone.

Postpartum expired too soon

What the hell’s unraveling in me?

A slap in my face, iron-clad gates slam shut

They said they had reasons

“Impossible! There’s no more endo to cut”

“Can you check a leaking bladder, colon or gut?”

How does he know there aren’t any more adhesions?

Same ol’ medical gaslighting, feels like pharmaceutical treason

Stage four swallowed me whole

Living right under the surface, my hell on earth

Post ablations, post pregnancies

Non-stop pain worse than birth

Shackled by skeptics

PTSD accompanied each appointment to guard against their weapons of useless words to devalue my worth

One day I was introduced to gold standard excision

They do what they can, but egos creep in

Each like the used car salesman before him,

They can turn on a dime.

Dumped in ways third-world countries get sanctioned

Patient-blaming, rights-taking,

Thirteen ruling men, women-hating

Still slipping post hysterectomy, post menopause

It’s My history. My tragedy. My cause.

No more debt-inducing lures

Armed with characters, tweeting my advocacy status

Endo everywhere, I don’t care about symantecs

Adhering and inflaming

As it attacks relentless

Keep telling my doctors all. The. Same. Thing.

I don’t want to be crippled by sciatica, lead limbs

Fainting spells, migraine

Shortness of breath or is it my lung collapsing again?

It’s fogging my sparkle, stealing my light

And revealing my shame

I’m demeaned in medical files

Labeled non-compliant

Because I don’t want your addictive cocktail?

All that does is hide it

I want to inspire a sisterhood rising, backlash from Salem Witch Trials

Buffalo stance, my mantra signature dance

Skilled, strong-willed, I do not cower

I am one with my avatar

Sly Serenity, Town Crier

Has ignorance always surpassed humanity?

All these women, all these witness,

Just like Cosby, this is insanity.

Testament of abuse, coins win, more abuse, female agony

My tormentor hides in plain sight,

Oppressing my health

Fem-washing my plight

Do you see me?

I’m now a contender, focused and stealth

Leveling higher, prepared to test

Enhancing my cracks with gold

Ready to rise above societal jest

I’m a warrior,

Like JLo

I’m living in color

Super fly shero

I’m adulting in real time, authentic and raw

No longer a bystander paralyzed in awe

Not a backdrop of fragility

This inhumanity has baited me to push taboos and red-pen law

My voice steady and deliberate

Shortness of breath but sharpened lucidity

Advocate, collaborate,

Resist like Lilith Fair, girl power in unity.

Imprisoned by my own body, resolved to waiting for check out

I am fiercely protecting my clarity

I’ve been known to flirt with the valley of doubt

Seeking strength and solidarity

Resisting their ignorance, their clout

I rise above their heartless misogyny

Sometimes a whisper is as powerful as a shout

No beast can steal my sunshine, my flicker

I am equal parts

idealistic, rebellious — salsa, salt, vinegar

Scorpian-born with tenacity, packing my dry-wit trigger

Watch me speak with my spoons heaped

In unapolegetic vigor

In the footsteps of my foresisters

My energy is empathy

I finally found my voice

Now I float in a bubble of levity

Living a slow death

In and out of consciousness

Ready for my end

Until my last breath, activist

Endometriosis defined

Deterioration of body and mind

I have ceased living

Merely existing, in time.

--

--

Silvia Young
FemTruth

Activist, best-selling author, survivor stage 4 xtrapelvic endo, ME/POTS; Founder #FemTruth #UniteEndo #UnitedStatesofEndo #GASLIT + Communications Advisor