Look back: 14 years of the greeting card design

pei
fenming
Published in
4 min readMay 10, 2022

It began with my first job failing to pay us employees for many months back in 2004. The economy was bad, and I was thousand-mile away from my family. I had to start my own business working with my own clients in order to stay.

To thank those who had helped me going through the toughest financial moments, I started sending out my own new year greeting cards. Initially, it was just a simple postcard, and then it transformed into a creative project that I enjoyed doing once a year. The idea is to encourage the users (my family and friends) to interact with the cards that they received. The complexity of the designs increased every year, that I needed to write cheat sheets (instructions) for my friends. :)

Simple Cards

雞 2005 Year of the Rooster- my first set of the new years cards.
Unfortunately, I don’t have the design or a hard copy of the cards anymore.

狗 2006 Year of the Dog
My 2nd year of greeting card design. Can’t locate the original design, either.

豬 2007 Year of the Pig
Started applying the Chinese Zodiac as the theme. The postcards were printed on translucent PVC cards.

2007 Year of the Pig

鼠 2008 Year of the Mouse
Not a big fan of the mice/rats, so I chose to handwrite calligraphy with mice related greeting words on the card that has a more generic design.

2008 Year of the Mouse

牛 2009 Year of the Ox
好牛 (Good Ox = Awesome)

2009 Year of the Ox

虎 2010 Year of the Tiger
飛啊,虎爺!(Fly, Tiger God!)

2010 Year of the Tiger

Interactive Cards

兔 2011 Year of the Rabbit
兔年蹦蹦跳. This is the first design with the interactive art & craft theme.

2011 Year of the Rabbit
2012 Year of the Dragon

蛇 2013 Year of the Snake
Threading.

2013 Year of the Snake

馬 2014 Year of the Horse
Typography design. One of my favorites.

2014 Year of the Horse

羊 2015 Year of the Sheep
Creative Tangram (Stickers).

2015 Year of the Sheep

猴 2016 Year of the Monkey
Origami part 2.

2016 Year of the Monkey

雞 2017 Year of the Rooster
Golden egg guardian.

2017 Year of the Rooster

狗 2018 Year of the Dog
A Zoetrope card. This was the last project of the series.

This post was first written in 2018 for my portfolio site. Repost here for a record.

--

--