Curating art and representing artists today: An Interview with India Dickinson

Feral Horses
Feral Horses | Blog
4 min readMar 14, 2018

Once atypical and unusual, the artist agency model is now a strong market player that is fully integrated in the art ecosystem.

India Dickinson in front of Ivo Morrison’s work

“In the past I have curated exhibitions in churches, World War II bunkers, abandoned warehouses as well as in domestic settings.” — India Dickinson

1. To start off, tell us a little bit about yourself! What is your background, where do you come from, where does your interest in art comes from?

I am from Lewes originally but have lived in London for the last nine years. I come from quite a creative family and have always be interested in art. I studied fine art at school and went on to do an art foundation course, which sadly really put me off making art and pushed me further towards the business and managerial side of things. I then did an Art Business course at Sotheby’s and went on to do a BA Honours degree in Visual Culture at Goldsmiths. While I was at university I started organising exhibitions with friends in London. I carried on doing this after university and from there I set up working as a curator and artist agent.

Ewelina Skowronska’s work

2. Tell us a bit about the India Dickinson Agency. What made you start your own art agency and what are the key challenges to run such an exciting business?

It is hard to say exactly when I started as I have been organising exhibitions since 2013, but I guess I began working as an artist agent full time after I graduated in 2016. I never wanted to have a permanent gallery space as I found the same white walls can be quite limiting for an artist to exhibit on over and over again. So I decided I wanted to represent artists and manage them so that they can have the structure and guidance of a gallery, and have the flexibility to exhibit in lots of different places with different curators. At the same time I organise pop up exhibitions in London every two months in varying locations. One of the key challenges is finding the locations to exhibit in, sadly they are become few and far between in London and the prices are constantly increasing. To be able to find a space that is accessible and big enough to exhibit in is definitely one of the main challenges in organising pop up exhibitions.

Jack Penny’s work

3. What do you love most about your job?

I love finding new artists to work with and discovering their work through studio visits or from degree shows. I also love being able to curate exhibitions in unusual places and bring contemporary art to a wider audience. In the past I have curated exhibitions in churches, World War II bunkers, abandoned warehouses as well as in domestic settings.

4.How did you become an art curator and an artist agent?

From organising pop up exhibitions it happened quite naturally to then start representing artists. I started with the few I had organised exhibitions within the past and it expanded from there. I guess the jump came from when I started the company and began creating an online presence. I now sell a lot of work online through different online platforms to international clients.

Dominic McHenry’s work

5. What would be your best advice for a young aspiring art curator?

Trust your instinct, always be honest and learn how to say no.

6. What would be your best advice for an aspiring artist agent?

Patience is essential when working with artists and trust your own taste to create your own style.

Ivo Morrison’s work

7. If you were to find a magic lamp and a kind arty genie asks you to make a wish to change the art market for the best what would you ask for?

If only! I would ask for more inclusion in the art world, a stronger representation for female artists and higher wages for all!

Discover India Dickinson Agency here

--

--