Meet Aphra Shemza, our new Feral Artist

Feral Horses
Feral Horses | Blog
4 min readMar 1, 2018

We are so proud to announce that we are now working with Aphra Shemza, a London-based new media artist working with abstraction, interactivity, and light.

Aphra Shemza — Composition X

“I am currently interested in sustainability in the arts and I believe as an artist I should place myself at the forefront of these issues being in the perfect position to question them.” — Aphra Shemza

To start this interview, tell us a bit about your work and why do you do what you do?

I am passionate about New Media art, technology, innovation and the future, which is why I address these themes in my art practice. I work predominantly with abstraction, interactivity and light. My work is multidisciplinary and academically I am most clearly defined as a New Modernist. I want to create a new visual language that engages a 21st century audience and explore Modernism and other historical movements to do so...

Totem MK1 by Aphra Shemza

According to you, what role does the Artist have in society?

I think that artists are inherently innovators and researchers; we are curious and are able to cross disciplines with ease. I am currently interested in sustainability in the arts and I believe as an artist I should place myself at the forefront of these issues being in the perfect position to question them. I wish to use my work as a tool with which to experiment and explore possibilities for the future and hope other artists will to.

And, what is your background?

I grew up surrounded by my Grandfather’s modernist paintings in our family home. His name was Anwar Jalal Shemza and he was an abstract painter from Pakistan. We recently had a room display at Tate Britain of his work as I currently manage the Estate on behalf family. More info can be found here.

Both he and my grandmother were artists and so I have always had art in my life. I created art and studied it throughout my schooling and university and now have been a practising professional artist for the last 6 years since graduating university.

D2/D3 Hybrid

Who are your biggest influences?

I am inspired of course by my Grandparents and also artists from the older generation; Alexander Calder, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy and Malevich and from the newer, artists such as; Sol Lewitt, Dan Flavin and Donald Judd.

As a young artist, how do you seek out opportunities?

I keep my ear to the pulse, I am signed up to numerous mailing lists where key opportunities are advertised and always try to attend gallery openings that are relevant to me. I have also created a collective with fellow artists Oliver Gingrich and Maria Almena and we help each other to find new opportunities together.

Heart Beats of Cristal by Aphra Shemza

What has been a seminal experience for your career?

I think exhibiting my work as part of the Winter Lights Exhibition in Canary Wharf was a fantastic experience for my career as it was seen by hundreds of thousands of people of the course of the festival. Working with amazing clients, such as the Canary Wharf Group, Louis Roederer Champagne and Save the Children has also been really important for me in establishing myself as an artist.

What’s the last show that truly surprised you? Why?

I went to see an exhibition by a group called Kinetech at Plexal in East London who are friends of mine last year and I had not seen their new work together. I was really surprised by their use of this new material and how beautiful their new pieces were a real feast for the eyes; a combination of architecture, folding and light.

What’s your favourite place to see art in London?

I love viewing art at the events I run as part of the media arts collective FLUX Events. They are usually only installed that day and are only there for one night but the passion and exploratory nature of the events make them very engaging and a great place to encourage feedback and dialogue about the works.

Post-Truth and Beauty by Aphra Shemza

What project are you working on now?

I am working on so many! A couple that spring to mind are a large light installation I am creating for Save the Children, which will be exhibited as part of their Universal Motherhood Exhibition opening March 11th. And I am preparing my work to take part in the Other Art Fair 2018 held at Victoria House this will be an opportunity for collectors to purchase my work. As well as currently being involved in a research project to do with sustainability in the arts.

Composition X by Aphra Shemza

Discover Composition X on our platform and get to own a piece of it here.

--

--