Flaming, Venting Hands

Ferdi Z.’s Drawings newsletter — Issue 006, May 2021

Ferdi Zebua
Ferdi’s Drawings
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2021

--

Three drawings this week. Might not be my most productive drawing week but progress nonetheless by my standards. I’ll keep improving.

This week’s drawings

Hot, Burning News

Instagram | Twitter | Ello

I’ve been finding that television, Internet, and media news had been somewhat upsetting this past week. I imagine news as “being not necessarily designed first & foremost to enrich & inform, but rather news designed to satiate and enflame.” And still it feels that a most iconic representation of news is a rolled-up edition of newspaper. Flaming and yet unburning, almost mythical or biblical in image, perhaps.

Vent

Instagram | Twitter | Ello

I needed to vent. So I drew a vent. Drawing this helped me vent, I’d say.

Perhaps not my best work, if we judge this as a crafted drawing. But it served its purpose.

Hand, Clenched & Unclenched

Instagram | Twitter | Ello

A practice drawing of a hand in the clenched and unclenched position. I’ve been finding drawing hands somewhat enjoyable lately. Relaxing, even, somehow. I think it likely I’ll be drawing more hands going forward.

Miscellaneous notes

I just want to add I had my first Covid-19 vaccine dose this May 20th. Astra-Zeneca it was, and so my 2nd dose is scheduled for three months after, this August. Yay!

Also this week was the Pentecost, and the anniversary of General Soeharto’s resignation marking the beginning of Indonesia’s 1998 Reformasi. The 11-day siege on Gaza also ended this week with a ceasefire mediated by Egypt.

Missed drawing themes, these. Looks like I won’t be keeping up much with current trending topics. I’m fine with that I guess. For now at least.

My socials etc.:

Twitter: @f_fz

Instagram: @ferdiz_draw

Ello: ello.co/FerdiZ

Mastodon.cloud: @FerdiZ@mastodon.cloud

Diaspora: ffz@joindiaspora.com

Personal WordPress.com blog: minddumpster.wordpress.com

--

--