SHAMBHALOOOOOVE: WE’RE TURNING 21 AND WE’VE LEARNED SO MUCH!

Stanley Arthur
Festival Addict
Published in
3 min readJul 25, 2018

ARE YOU PACKED YET??? Shambhala is only a couple of weeks away and festival goers around the world are getting antzier and antzier waiting for the moment when they arrive at the farm. That moment when you pull up to the freshly groomed cow field, find your spot in the field and instantly you are home.

Surrounded by family, many of which you haven’t even met yet, everyone feels the same. At peace.

This is the feeling that really hits home with the new “teaser video” as seen below:

Do you feel it?

Home.

Up until last week, we at Festival Addict didn’t think we were going to make it to Shambhala this year. This time last year, we were planning to go to Let It Roll & Boomtown and do the whole Europe festival circuit this summer. Unfortunatly those plans fell apart FOR NOW!

Then we get stuck with ALLLLLL of the “I’m getting too old” feels and excuses..

First, the “I cant get work off,”

Then, the “I can’t afford it”

Eventually, the dreaded “I have a girlfriend now so I dont need to go.”

Fast forward a little bit and I am now engaged to the love of my life.

Could I really enter into a long term relationship like that without my life partner ever experiencing everything that is the SHAMBHALA MUSIC FESTIVAL?

Not likely!

Photo by Lewis Bocnar

The stars aligned and time off from work became available quickly followed by tickets and drug-free camping at Camp Clean Beats.

This year will mark 4 years clean for me.

4 years ago this August 12th is the day that I died.

Luckily by the grace of god and the amazing medical team and harm reduction practices at Shambhala I was brought back to life.

Getting and staying clean was certainly no easy task.

I documented it in great detail in my book which you can get by clicking here.

Shambhala is the only festival which I can feel 100%, without a doubt, completely safe. Not only do they have world class harm reduction services, drug testing and a sanctuary that can help tame the most intense hallucinogenic freak out episode, the entire atmosphere is so caring and loving that everybody just wants to help one another.

If you do still find a way to cross the line and need medical help, they have the best medical staff ready to save your life. Hopefully it doesnt have to come to that but for a select few of us, it does.

Now that I am 4 years into sobriety, I go for completely different reasons.

Now, I actually connect with people in ways other than doing the same drugs.

I actually go to workshops and see SOOOOOO many of the artists I wanted to see and discover SOOOOO much new music.

When you are clean and sober, you actually enjoy the heat and the sun. You enjoy the beach and the floating down the river. You enjoy the calm times and the crazy times. You enjoy the photos and the outfits.

You simply enjoy.

If you are heading out to the farm this year, come say hi on Saturday at 4pm and have a piece of cake at Camp Clean Beats for my 4 year clean party!

If that wasn’t enough to get you out, check out this damn schedule!

See you on the farm ❤

--

--

Stanley Arthur
Festival Addict

Addict DJ Turned Writer, Entrepreneur & Addiction Support Enthusiast. www.festivaladdict.me