ZION NOIZ / Odyssey Music Festival : Perfection Reflection

Stanley Arthur
Festival Addict
Published in
7 min readJun 20, 2017
Cover photo of Zion Noiz / Odyssey Festival Addict Crew by the amazing Johann Hashman!
Nearly done setting up camp the first night at Zion Noiz Music Festival

We were blessed to be asked to attend Zion Noiz and they graciously afforded us Media passes to their amazing little festival. Little in size, but GIGANTIC in heart they greeted us at the gates. Although we were pretty late getting in, we made the most of it right away. We did a quick wrap around the grounds, met some amazing people, heard some SUPER BANGING DNB and then set up camp. Luckily the Drum n Bass kept jamming along as we set up camp and we could hear it almost as if we were directly behind the stage (BECAUSE WE WERE). We literally had THE PERFECT campsite at the top of the VIP area facing the entrance to the first stage.

Literally, when people were walking to the stage, they would see Festival Addict and then immediately hear the amazing beats and see all of the wonderful people. We could not have been happier.

Then they walk slightly past us, towards the stage and see something like this..

This was also the first time where we went to a festival and people actually knew who we are. Haha Only about one year after starting Festival Addict, we are actually getting known out in the festival scene as the clean ravers that know how to have a good time and show support for the suffering addict.

Over the weekend we had many visitors who came over to say hi, and not only because we had a 12 foot trampoline set up. Although, there was many people who loved that as well. People were very supportive in what we were doing. With so many people walking by our camp site, many of times, we could hear one person explaining to their friends about Festival Addict. We would then of course run over to meet them all and give them hugs, info and other free things.

Oh and check out this cool video of our new friends doing a trick when we all combined our fidget spinners together :D By the way, its time lapse so starts slow but is really cool! :)

Photocred: Johann Hashman

This was probably the most connected I felt with a festival since my first and longest attending festival, Evolve. I simply felt at home. We made some great new friends and ran into some old ones. We had the best time dancing, hula hooping, playing devil sticks and jumping on the trampoline.

We made some great connections with fellow dancers, djs, shop owners and festival organizers. We all attended a devil sticks workshop, where we all learned how to play devil sticks. I haven’t seen much of these things in the last 8 years or so but I see that they are making quite the comeback over the last couple of years. As a basic form of flow art I think that they are a super fun and beautiful thing to do, especially at a festival.

I have honestly never been to a workshop that I didn’t enjoy. The people who put them on as well as the people who attend them have to be some of the most chill, artistic and genuine people I have ever met. I always learn something new and always leave with new friends smiling. I feel like I missed out for the 13 years I went to festivals and stayed too fucked up the entire time to interact with new people.

THE BURN!!!

This was the first time I was actually at a burn festival and it was amazing! The fire show and burning of the UFO were out of this world hahaha Get it?

Even the lighting alone was unbelieveable. Starting out with an insane fire show with people spinning fire, fire swords, wings, blow torches and so much more awesomeness.

It was really an experience unlike any other. Burning man is still one of the only festivals that I feel I must get to before I die but this was a nice way to get to experience a first burn as you might put it. It was nice and close to home while still feeling so far from everyday life. For that moment, we really felt the ability to let go of all of our troubles and start over. They also let you go and put things that you would like to forget in the area of the burn so you can start over. It really is an amazing philosophy and really hits home for me. Having such a destructive past and having a completely new life since getting clean, I absolutely love the idea of starting over.

Our Amazing Neighbors! Photocred: Jessie Dinner

I ended up giving away a few books and even sold a couple as well. (one to our amazing unicorn neighbors and new friends for life ❤)

I had people come up to me and tell me about how they admired how I was not afraid to hold anything back and being open about my experiences. I even had some people tell me that I made a difference in their lives. This is really the entire purpose behind everything I do and to see it happen already with just one year into the process, it really means the world to me. I have already had messages, emails and confrontations from the people I am helping, I cannot even begin to imagine the people I will help over the next 20, 40, 60 years and long after I am gone through my books and other media. If you want to check out the first book, you can grab it by clicking here.

Getting clean and being sober was actually discussed quite alot at this festival (atleast to us) and in a positive light. There was some discussions on Fentanyl and the extreme dangers associated with it. Many of the people we spoke to have lost their close friends to addiction and some suffered from it themselves. It was agreed upon that it is a super serious issue and needs to be stopped. It really gives me the motivation to strive to get this book out to as many people as possible before it becomes too late for someone else that I could potentially stop.

Photocred: Johann Hashman

This festival also was family friendly with some of the most amazing little kids around. This change in festival culture is very much welcomes and feels like a breath of fresh air. Obviously every festival will not switch to being like this over night, but I feel we are on the right track.

Oh and the Shambhala Ticket Giveaway Winner was chosen at this event! We wanted to pick the winner in a creative manner and not just pick someone without an event around it. So after a long couple of weeks getting ready and compiling the names of everyone, we had over 12,000 entries.

We bought 4 cardboard boxes on the way to Zion and printed off papers with everyones names on them. While we were at the festival, we used arts and crafts time to collectively glue the names onto the boards. Heres a quick video of us getting it all ready! Keep an eye out for your name!

We actually made an event focused around the giveaway and planned to “go live” so that the world could all experience this action together. Unfortunately, like many festivals, Zion Noiz had no cell phone signal. Somewhat luckily for us anyways as we slept through the time of the event and it took MUCH longer than we thought to cut and glue the names. We ended up making the video and then driving into the city to post it. As soon as we hit cell phone signal, my phone exploded with people wondering who won. We simply posted the video so everyone could see. If you want to see it yourself, check it out. The little girl in it just melts our hearts. :)

Even if you didnt win, we are still constantly giving away festival tickets and other prize packs. Most importantly however, you are raising awareness of our cause. That is that former addicts can still enjoy a life of happiness and excitement free of drugs. Just because you might feel like you need drugs to have fun, believe me, you can have alot more fun without them. You just need to reach out for help and stick to your guns. If you or someone you know needs help, please reach out to me. I am here for you. ❤

P.L.U.R. (Peace, Love, Unity & Respect)

-Stanley Arthur
Festival Addict

www.festivaladdict.me

Facebook: www.facebook.com/FestivalAddict
Instagram: www.instagram.com/Festival.Addict
Twitter: www.twitter.com/@festivaladdict_
Youtube: youtube.com/c/FestivalAddict
Soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/Festival_Addict
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B071QX9VHG

--

--

Stanley Arthur
Festival Addict

Addict DJ Turned Writer, Entrepreneur & Addiction Support Enthusiast. www.festivaladdict.me