Santi Zoraidez’s Touchable Objects

Lemonade
FF0083
Published in
3 min readNov 10, 2020

Curves, balance, and an evocative color palette define Santi Zoraidez’s images. The Argentinean artist and designer creates enchanting still-life scenes in which objects come alive. Lemonade spoke with him about his #ConnectedByLemonade animation, as well as his globe-spanning influences.

Without giving away the magic, can you describe your process?

My work is actually 100% digital. But what I always like to achieve is a good balance between synthetic/artificial materiality and shapes, textures, and objects from the real world.

I try to make my stuff transmit the need to be touched, to make viewers feel it’s a piece of art that they could play with…something they could find as an installation in a modern art museum or something they could buy in a store. I especially pay attention to light and space: proportions, colors, and well-balanced compositions.

Stills from Santi Zoraidez’s #ConnectedByLemonade commission.

What about your commission for Lemonade?

I think this piece has a lot of what I was talking about above. It’s colorful and feels strong and bold which makes it stand out. It’s simple and good-looking.

How has the art and culture of Argentina influenced your aesthetic?

Maybe my work is not just influenced by my home country but also from European culture. I have lived in Copenhagen and Berlin, and I’m currently in Barcelona. It’s hard to tell. Most of my work is super colorful (that I got from South America), mixed with bold and clean shapes that come from European culture.

Who is one of your creative heroes?

I’m a big fan of Zeitguised. They’re a Berlin-based studio which has been doing amazing stuff since I was just starting.

What’s more important to you: shapes, or colors?

Both! I play with them all the time while working. It’s about finding the point when colors and shapes match together to make a piece look good.

How do you approach a new project?

Even if I have my own style, I always try to find something special or particular for each new work I start. And that means not only trying to make it look amazing but to find how to communicate an idea, or what I want to tell the viewers. I try not to do the same thing all the time—but I believe people can tell it’s mine when they see the work.

For more of Santi’s work, check out his Instagram! And don’t forget to follow #ConnectedByLemonade.

--

--

Lemonade
FF0083
Editor for

Lemonade publishes the art blog #FF0083. We also happen to offer top-rated renters, homeowners, and pet health insurance.