Cardiff

Harry Tilsley
Ffoton
Published in
3 min readJan 7, 2017

I moved to Cardiff about a year ago. Prior to this I had been used to living in a medium-sized town, so moving to a city was a small shock. Initially I found it hard to deal with as someone who leans more towards landscape photography than anything else.

In a past project I dealt with the idea of mourning the loss and destruction of nature. Now, if I felt like this in a fairly rural medium size town, imagine my reaction after moving to a place where there is almost no sign at all that nature was once there. After this initial reaction and as time has gone on, I feel I am finding more and more of a narrative to grasp onto.

The city is continually in a state of transition, humans are building and demolishing and all the while nature is trying to return. After looking at my surroundings, it is clear that there is a struggle to prevent the city from returning to nature, the build up of moss, the growth of saplings, the subtle build up of calcite on the side of a pillar. I find the endless change interesting and there certainly is some powerful imagery to be had. It’s a hard project to see a ending for, as I don’t think the city is ever really finished in itself. However, I feel I am not far from wanting to present the work, regardless of whether I continue photographing the subject or not.

--

--