Colour | Contrast | Light

Matt E
Ffoton
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2017

Through 2016, having gained a better understanding of the principles of exposure, my attention has been continually drawn towards photographing people candidly and through portraiture. At first, street photography didn’t feel comfortable as it is often without prior agreement; however, I have persevered because I love the opportunities presented in composition, characters, social interaction and the technical challenge.

Inspirations/influences include the usual Magnum photographers (Parr, Gilden etc.), Vivian Maier and Saul Leiter. My aim is to develop my own style within the street photography genre, based on the themes of colour, contrast and light. The majority so far has been of people in Wales, with a few international locations when the opportunity has presented itself.

I’m currently developing an ongoing series entitled ‘Excerpts’. Images to date have been shot with a mixture of 35mm and 50mm and Leica M/Fuji using zone/manual focussing. I’m about to embark on an experimentation with 28mm which offers it’s own spatial and special challenges.

--

--

Matt E
Ffoton
Writer for

Geologist + some time photographer using film and digital rangefinders www.grandeleonion.com