Rebirth — In the Realm of Shadows (Part 2)

Colton
Fiction novels
Published in
4 min readOct 30, 2023

--

Purchasing Joss Paper

With just 26 days left until the horrifying apocalypse, I drove straight to a funeral supply shop in the remote outskirts.

While it was called a funeral supply shop, it was essentially a narrow shop with the elderly owner, Milton, behind the counter.

In my previous life, after the horrifying apocalypse, I had received a bank card with a balance of one thousand joss dollars. I knew deep down that it was a form of protection from my deceased father.

I had burned joss paper worth a hundred billion in his honor, but only the one thousand joss dollars I purchased from this shop could be transformed into usable underworld money after the apocalypse.

I steadied my thoughts and said to the owner, “I’d like to buy some joss paper.”

The owner Milton immediately handed me a stack of joss paper and said, “These joss papers are handmade following traditional techniques. A stack of one thousand joss dollars costs only ten dollars. When you burn these, your ancestors can buy everything they need in the underworld.”

Ten dollars can only buy one thousand joss dollars. This price was not just expensive, it was outrageously exorbitant!

--

--

Colton
Fiction novels

A software engineer who is always at a high level of passion with new techs and a strong willing to share with what I have learned.