100-Word Drabble Challenge

Nancy makes the rules here and is the Mayor of our Hamlet.

Harry Hogg
Fiction Shorts
2 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

Notice to all dogs: Please do not be offended. It’s funny.

Village— is the random word of the day.

Reverent Jolly, walking in the village of Green Town, is rehearsing his sermon. The sun shone, the birds sang, and the trees had dressed themselves when he came across a child walking her dog. He’d heard a new family had moved to the village. He stopped to introduce himself.

“Hello, child, I’m Mr. Jolly, the vicar at Saint Nicholas.”

“Hello, Mr. Jolly. My name is Petal.”

“That’s a beautiful name.”

“When I was born, a petal fluttered by the window. Daddy named me Petal.”

“And your little dog’s name?”

“Porky. Daddy said he found him trying to fuck a pig!”

(No offense will be taken if you dislike being tagged for various reasons. Please let me know, and I’ll be sure it doesn’t happen on my posts again. If, on the other hand, you’d grace me by allowing a tag, I’d be thrilled to add you.

--

--

Harry Hogg
Fiction Shorts

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025