Fiction Shorts/Random Word Drabble 96

A Frosty Welcome

But a purring cat

John Hansen
Fiction Shorts
Published in
1 min readApr 6, 2024

--

Random word drabble 96: “dictionary”

Photo by Hannah Smith on Unsplash

As I stepped out of the truck, Charlie lowered the rifle. “You could have called and let me know you were coming,” he said huffily.

“Sorry, but most times I try to call, you don’t answer, so I thought I’d surprise you.”

“Well, you better come in and fill me in on all that happened. It’s good to get my pick-up back.”

Entering the cabin, I smiled as Lucky strolled over to me. He’d grown in the time I was away, and purred as I reached down and stroked him.

Charlie’s manuscript and a dictionary lay on the table.

2024 © John Hansen: All rights reserved.
Australian writer

“Each day, I post a word for the following day. Your challenge is to write a drabble (a story of exactly 100 words) in which the day’s random word features.” Nancy Oglesby

--

--

John Hansen
Fiction Shorts

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!