Fiction / Drabble / Challenge

A Mule Train on the Road to Bodie in Mid-Winter

The town needed the wood

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

--

The random word for the day is desire.
The first sentence for today’s drabble must be:
The road ahead was closed.

A mule train with a freight wagon full of lumber struggles during a severe snowstorm.
AI image generated via Bing Copilot Designer by the author.

Drabbles are works of fiction of exactly 100 words. No more. No less.
Please stay on the page for 30 seconds or more, so the stories are counted as read. Please read, highlight, clap, comment — let us know you’ve been here! Thank you!

The road ahead was closed. Jose looked back through the swirling snow and couldn’t see the road he just drove over. He had already gone halfway to Bodie from Mono Lake, and he had no desire to turn back now.

He wouldn’t get paid for his delivery of wood.
Some people needed his wood to stay alive.
And some of the mines might even have to shut down.

“Vamonos!” he yelled to his mules. “We will make our own road!”

Four months later they found the frozen bodies of nine mules and an empty wagon. No one ever found Jose.

You can find more of my drabbles about Virginia City and Bodie over on Lodestar Gazette. Plus, a list of My Old Prospector series of drabbles can be found here. And My Will and Aggie series of drabbles can be found here.

Here is Nancy Oglesby’s prompt for Day 189 of the Random Word Drabble Challenge on Fiction Shorts:

I have been missing a lot of drabbles lately, including yesterday’s western genre. I see a lot of people had a lot of fun with this one. Here's one of the funniest. It’s by Mark Palmer.

My Tag List

Let me know in a comment if you would like to be added to or deleted from this list: Harry Hogg, Luke Warburton, A man leading a simple life, Michael Rhodes, Randy Pulley, Bruce Coulter, Adrienne Beaumont, Julia A. Keirns, Delaney Patterson, Karen Schwartz, Lynn L. Alexander, Judy Derby, Kelly Corinne Elliott, Paula Shablo, Michele Maize, CJ Coop, Brandon Ellrich, Patricia Timmermans, Maria Rattray, Jonny Masters, Stephen Dalton, Izzibella Beau, Denée King, Nancy S Rust, Robin MS, Glenn M Stewart and John Hansen.

Thanks for reading!

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.