A New Deal For America

And one Don can’t refuse.

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
1 min read2 hours ago

--

Today’s random word is closely.

The Washington Monument, from Wikimedia Commons

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

The Washington Monument

Sunrise

Joe: “They were meant to be forgotten — even Washington and Lincoln. Mr. President, thank you for meeting me. We didn’t shake hands last week. Let’s remedy that now.”

Don: “You’ve got a firm grip, Joe. My people can’t ever know about this meeting.”

Joe: “Don, look closely at me. I’m old and tired; I can’t do this anymore. I will soon be forgotten. Just like them, and so will you.

Don: “What do you want from me?”

Joe: “I’ll pardon you for everything. You’ll drop out. I’ll do the same.”

Don: “It’s a deal, Mr. President.”

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.