Random/Drabble/Day 202

A Scary New World

Time travel

Izzibella Beau
Fiction Shorts

--

Today’s random drabble word is Modern

100 Words + Fiction + Complete Story = A Drabble

The twist today is to write a drabble and a half, which means 150 words for your reading pleasure.

Image created using DALL-E AI

The last thing I remember was laughing and running down to the cattle pond with William James chasing me. I know I slipped on the wet grass and felt a sharp pain in my head.

When I woke, I wasn’t on the farm any longer. Vehicles raced about. Buildings touched the sky. And people, so many people rushing about.

Women walked past dressed in pants that showed off their legs and shirts that didn’t fully cover their arms; must be women of the night.

Men had similar attire. I shield my eyes as they were showing their undergarments with their britches pulled down.

It was so loud. Like a new, modern world

I wanted to go home.

I closed my eyes and thought of William.

“Lily Mae,” I woke to William shaking my shoulder. “Where’d you go? You look spacey.”

“The future.”

William looked excited. “Yeah, what’s it like.”

“Scary.”

Here are some of my favorite authors on Medium. These individuals deserve more recognition for their talent than what is given.

Harry HoggJessica MorganCJ CoopLudiane de BrocéliandeRandy PulleyDenée KingJohn HansenStephen DaltonJason EdmundsKaren HoffmanNancy S RustHABEEBAH OYEDOKUNKaren SchwartzRobin MSLeslie FlemonsAmy PotterJerry DwyerPooja Vishwanathan 🦋Jonny MastersJennifer MorrisonEko BMiriam ConnollySтepн TнoмpѕoɴThe Ink RatGoldie TrojanMisha SeeksLynn L. AlexanderNancy OglesbyAdrienne Beaumont

--

--

Izzibella Beau
Fiction Shorts

I write articles that will help you grow as a writer and as a person. I also write fictional stories that make you question everything about life and beyond