Fiction Shorts 2024 Drabble Challenge

Words make the world go round

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2023

--

For the most current rules, check today’s random word post. I update those weekly.

Image Credit: Canva Pro

Happy New Year!

I was remiss in my definition of a drabble, and want to make sure those who’ve already seen this know that a true drabble is a story of exactly 100 words. Not under as I previously wrote.

Who wants to try something new in 2024, a challenge of sorts? I got the idea from reading one of Eva MacInnes’ drabbles in response to a random word and liked it so much that I decided to make it a daily feature in Fiction Shorts.

I have goals for our little publication!

  1. Bring energy to the world of flash fiction.
  2. To read a lot of great stories.
  3. Meet more authors and build a flash community.
  4. Be more consistent.
  5. Get my neurons bouncing around enthusiastically.
  6. Gain readers to our publication.

The Challenge

This challenge is for you if you’re trying to boost your creativity, build a consistent writing habit, get concise, or just have fun!

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication