MICROFICTION|DRABBLE |DAY 198 OF 366| JULY 16TH

Goddam it!

Just another drabble.

OBA.T.K
Fiction Shorts

--

The random word is CLIMB. Twist is YOU GET TO THE DRYCLEANER ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY HAVE CLOSED EARLY.

Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

Please enjoy my one hundred words drabble for at least 30 seconds so Medium knows you’ve been here. Claps, highlights, and comments will help more people read my work. I would do the same for you.

These darn winding stairs are a hard climb.

But they are the only way to the laundry shop. I drag the back of my hand over my forehead and huff.

One, two, three, four.

I count as I take the stairs two at a time, holding on to the rusty bannisters for dear life.

I shouldn’t be this hasty because they won’t close until 7 p.m., but the thought of Isi Ewu waiting afterwards is enough motivation.

“Goddammit.”

The sight of the bolted door feels like a well-timed punch to my gut.

My watch beeps. It’s just 6 pm.

Isi- ewu - is a spicy, rich, and traditional Igbo soup from southeastern Nigeria that’s made with goat’s head and various spices

Today, I recommend Julia A. Keirns Story. It is so sad it hurts.

Would you like to join in? Join us in Fiction Shorts

Here are the rules and guidelines!

Random Word Drabble Guidelines Update | by Nancy Oglesby | Fiction Shorts | Jan, 2024 | Medium

I have written almost 200 drabbles. Check them out.

MY 366 DAY DRABBLE CHALLENGE

272 stories

If you like my work and want to support it, buy me a cup of coffee

©2024 OBA.T. K | All Rights Reserved.

--

--