Hazel’s Gift

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
1 min read6 days ago

Today’s random word is rapid.

Photo by the author

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

I’m not going to the reading of the will.

Hazel let me know about the gift a few years ago.

Yesterday, her daughter told me about her rapid decline.

No surprise, as she was 93.

But death is always a surprise.

Hazel was a quiet neighbor for 25 years.

And was widowed twice, Marlyn and Rollie.

Insistent Rollie, a retired farmer, mowed our shared backyard.

I last saw Hazel at the Main Street Stylist about a week ago. She was getting a permanent.

Rebecca and I will go to the funeral.

Afterward, I will mount Hazel and Rollie’s riding mower.

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.