He Opened the Door in his Pajamas

Miriam Connolly
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2024

--

The random word is ‘friendship’ with an opening ‘twist’

A gif file of a man standing in his pajamas and a door open to his beating heart
Image Credit: Canva Pro/Author

A Drabble is a work of fiction that is exactly 100 words. No More. No Less.

Today’s twist: Story starts with ‘I would have sworn there wasn’t a door there yesterday’

Because drabbles are short, please consider staying on this page for at least 30 seconds or Medium will not register it as a read. If this story resonated with you, I’d be thrilled to hear your thoughts or see your applause.

I’d love to know you were here ☘️

I would have sworn there wasn’t a door there yesterday. ’Twas only a budding friendship with my neighbor Amelia, but it felt like I stood on the threshold of change, ready to shut out the past and open horizons.

I left small tokens of affection at her doorstep daily, hoping to unlock her smile.

Now she’s given me the key to her heart. Knock on wood!

She holds open the door, a vision in a white almost-there negligee…

I step inside…

BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! My alarm!

“Goodbye Bert dear, don’t let the door hit you on the way out!”

--

--

Miriam Connolly
Fiction Shorts

Drawing inspiration from life experience, I love reading and writing about personal growth, culture and creativity