It’s Not Too Late For You

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJun 30, 2024

Today’s random word is throe.

Hugo Simberg’s The Garden of Death, from Wikimedia Commons

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

This Drabble continues the first story linked at the end.

But if I was being honest, I was just afraid.

To live.

Until two weeks ago.

David had been my doctor for thirty years.

He put his hand on my shoulder when he came into the room.

Six months, give or take.

At home, in my chair, silence, a sudden feeling of anguish.

Elizabeth would call it a throe.

Is she still alive?

It’s funny.

Now that my time is almost up, my fears have evaporated.

That tree, just outside my window, is so green.

Look at the veins on that leaf.

And that beetle with the copper-brown wing.

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.