Joseph’s Clever Note

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2024

--

Today’s random word is settled. The first sentence is This is the last sentence I will be writing and I am going to stop mid-sent…

AI Copilot Image Creator by author

“This is the last sentence I will be writing and I am going to stop mid-sent…,” Millie read.

“Wait, Millie, there’s writing on the other side. Read it.”

“‘Dear Mr. and Mrs. Madison, My heart is broken. So is Joseph’s. A dog can’t stay in the shelter forever. I beg you. Let Joseph have me. I will be good. I will never ask anything else of you.’ Oh, Gabe, Joseph wrote this pretending to be the dog he wants.”

“The letter shows ingenuity. What do you think?”

“I think yes!”

“Me too.”

“Then it’s settled. Let’s tell Joseph!”

Dogs have a way of finding the people who need them and filling an emptiness we didn’t ever know we had.” — Thom Jones

I loved this funny drabble by Carolann Grace Renaud

And this slice-of-life drabble from Eko B

--

--

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts

Journeying through pages and paths, chasing words, embracing life, promoting literacy. .