Learning To Let Go

Poet In The Arctic
Fiction Shorts
Published in
1 min readMay 25, 2024

--

A Random Word Drabble Challenge #144: baby

Photo by John Duncan on Unsplash

The matted-down fur is not yet dry, the color still slowly leaking out; still tainting.

I can feel the quickened pulse, racing to live just a little bit more. As if moving faster would actually make life all worth it. Did this baby bluebird have a life worth living? A life worth risking when it leapt into flight and crashed into death?

My heart lurches at its attempt to flutter, the desire for a last breath still in flight.

And when it stops, when the quivering stops, I think how precious time is. And how little we sometimes have.

A Drabble is a fiction story of exactly 100 words. No more, no less.

Sometimes I feel like life is just a Drabble.

Please check out this other Drabble by Karen Hoffman:

And the challenge announcement below:

--

--

Poet In The Arctic
Fiction Shorts

Arctic Dreamer. Forest Breather. I write about my experiences living in the North with a side of fiction short stories and poetry.