Fiction

Let Me Grieve

A Fiction Shorts Drabble

Jonny Masters
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Random Word: rapid
Twist: set first sentence

a dying rose
Photo by Marcus Ganahl on Unsplash

Take your time. That means your read will count. You can pass the time by highlighting, clapping and commenting if you enjoy what you read.

I’m not going to the reading of the will. I don’t need to.

He loved me for years.

I’ve had enough of people.

“Sign this.”

“Organise that.”

“I’m sorry, please accept my condolences.”

It is all so rapid.

They mean well, but I just want to cry.

I don’t need to be there. It is not important.

It’s a pebble at the foot of this great cliff of love. I’ve fallen and lie broken at its base. I care not for the pebbles when all I feel is pain.

Let me grieve.

When I’m ready to talk, I’ll find you.

This Drabble (a story of exactly 100 words) was written in response to this prompt from Nancy Oglesby:

--

--

Jonny Masters
Fiction Shorts

Gay Christian. Editor of Poetry Playground, Inclusive Christianity, Prism & Pen. I write a daily drabble with themes such as pets, tourism, humour and politics.