FICTION | DRABBLE WRITING PROMPT | RANDOM WORD | WRITING

Make No Mistake, Writing Is a Real Job

Writing is much more than typing on a keyboard

Stephen Dalton
Fiction Shorts
Published in
3 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Random Word Drabble Challenge Day 113 Word Is Work.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash — Text added with PowerPoint.

A drabble is a work of fiction that is exactly 100 words, no more, no less. I hope you enjoy it. Please scroll and read for at least 30 seconds. Claps, highlights, and comments are optional but very appreciated.

What do you mean I should get a real job? I asked my uninformed friend.

“You know nothing, John Snow.”

I work a real job. I write copy. I write fiction. I have six websites. Who do you think does the admin tasks on those? I have dozens of clients for whom I must do keyword research. I outline articles, write, edit, pitch, prospect, publish, promote, and more.

I create SEO content for business websites to attract organic traffic and then ghostwrite blogs so they can concentrate on business.

I made $107,000 last year. How did your real job do?

Not to brag, but my Comic Con drabble was my fastest story ever to 50 fans in just over 18 hours. It’s mostly thanks to all of you here at Fiction Shorts

--

--

Stephen Dalton
Fiction Shorts

Stephen Dalton is a retired US Army First Sergeant with a degree in journalism from the University of Maryland. Top Writer in Investing, Business, & Bitcoin!