Misunderstood Drabbles

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2024

--

“Cheer” is today’s random word.
If you only knew” is somewhere in the story.

AI Copilot Image Creator by author

Darling, I’m worried about you and the company you’re keeping lately. I’ve taken the liberty of making an appointment for you with Dr. Finebrain.

“Finebrain! Mable, you’re kidding!”

“No, Dear. I initially thought those little dribbles you’re dabbling in were giving you a bit of cheer.”

“They’re drabbles, Mable! And I do enjoy them.”

“I’ve made a list of my concerns for Dr. Finebrain. These friends babble…”

“Drabble! If you only knew..”

“Drabble, babble. Flat earth, vile characters, ghosts, time travel, doors that aren’t there. Obsessions with ice cream and garbage!”

“Fiction! They’re fiction!”

“Nonetheless, they’re unrealistic. Otherworldly, even.

“I think there may be more truth in fiction than in real life…Or at least truth condensed so that it’s more easily understood.”—Dean Koontz

Misha Seeks, Miriam Connolly, and Patricia Timmermans wrote fabulous drabbles I love.

--

--

Nancy S Rust
Fiction Shorts

Journeying through pages and paths, chasing words, embracing life, promoting literacy. .