Mommy, I Want to Be Boosted When I Grow Up

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
1 min readJun 12, 2024

Today’s random word is almost

“Shoot for the Moon,” Photo by the author

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

The Nearly Great Support Group

Motel 6, Highway 61, Room 13

Dr. Well-Nigh

Dr.: “Let’s begin by introducing ourselves and telling us what brings you here. I’m Bill; I teach psychology at the community college and have been running this group for two years. Marlon, your turn.”

“I’m Marlon and got greedy. Otherwise, I coulda been a contender.”

“Becky’s my name. It’s my lip, slightly crooked. It worked for Bogie. Just small parts, that’s all I got.”

“Clarence, Angel, Second Class. I got this close. And then someone yelled CUT.”

“Paul, on Medium for three years, almost boosted, damn.”

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.