Murder on the Golf Course

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Today’s random word is cumbrous

Drabble 153: A mystery.

Photo by the author

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

3 am at a Motel 6

“Would the glove give me away?

It won’t be the shoes. I’m wearing them.

The balls? Well, finally.

Enough is enough.

Everyone is born a murderer.

I’ve thought about it for years.

But yesterday, on the practice range.

I thought she was my friend.

Sweetie, I called her after my mother.

I liked her shape.

We felt good together.

My friends told me we made a good pair.

But she made promises that she did not keep.

And now I can’t sleep.

Because I remember the terror in the eyes

Of my cumbrous driver.”

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.