My Night With the Knight

Maria Rattray
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

Photo by Cas Holmes on Unsplash

Today’s random word is: night

I had no idea he was a knight. He’d just asked me to partner him to a ball for the Knights of the Garter.

I’d heard of the group, but had never actually met a knight. I was curious.

I borrowed my friend Emily’s fabulous gown complete with garter. In my opinion, these things don’t actually serve a function, but they’re all the rage, so when in Rome...

On that night, he was ushering me outside when the darned garter fell.

A few people tittered, whereupon he turned to them and said with disgust:

“Honi soit qui mal y pense!”

Note: ‘Honi soit qui mal y pense” roughly translates to: Evil to him who evil thinks. You can read about it here.

If you’re not already on board with writing drabbles, (short, 100-word stories, no more, no less,) do yourself a favour. Get stuck in! They are a lot of fun to write, but also serve as a lesson in tight writing, given the 100-word constraint.

--

--

Maria Rattray
Fiction Shorts

Writer, author, teacher, fun-loving poet. Trying valiantly to make the world a better place. Helping you to guide the future. Find me at: https://ponmyword.com