Penance

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min read13 hours ago

Today’s random word is anxiety; the genre is historical fiction.

Photo by the author of a Slavery Sculpture by Kwame-Akosto-Bamforr, from The National Memorial for Peace and Justice, Montgomery, Alabama.

A Drabble is a concise 100-word story that respects your busy schedule. Your presence here matters. Please stay on the page for thirty seconds so you will count as a reader. Thank you

James: “Sometimes I feel like I am doing penance.”

Edward: “How long was your third great-grandfather governor of Mississippi?”

James: “Four years, 1904–1908. He was a complicated man. But a racist, even by the standards of the time.”

Edward: “You’re not like him.”

James: “After we close, at dusk, I walk around the grounds full of anxiety. It’s like I’m holding something back.”

Edward: “Hey, you’re the only white guy on the staff. Are you thinking about quitting?

James: “While walking around last night, I stopped at the Akoto-Bamfo sculpture and wept.

I’m sticking around.”

Edward: “Thank You.”

I took this photo from the Rosa Parks Library and Museum in Montgomery, Alabama. You can read about James K. Vardaman here.

Photo by the author

--

--

Paul Gardner
Fiction Shorts

I’m a retired college professor. Politics was my subject. Please don’t hold either against me. Having fun reading, writing, and meeting.