Fiction Shorts/Drabble 5/Somewhere

Somewhere

Wrong Place – Wrong Time

John Hansen
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJan 6, 2024

--

Photo by Nathan Van Egmond on Unsplash

The next morning, I dropped my room key in the afterhours chute, and drove home. Perhaps I had just been paranoid, but if you’d witnessed what I had to warrant protection, you would too.

I wish I had been somewhere else the night of the execution style murder. It was just one of those “wrong place – wrong time” scenarios. I recognized the high-profile person exiting the lift as I got in but had no idea of the consequences of that brief encounter.

I brewed coffee and sat down with my laptop … there was a new email notification.

Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

2024 © John Hansen: All rights reserved.
Australian writer

Challenge

Each day, I post a word for the following day. Your challenge is to write a drabble (a story of exactly 100 words) in which the day’s random word features.
Nancy Oglesby

Tagging

Adrienne Beaumont, Adrian CDTPPW, Randy Pulley, Ashllyn T., Michael Rhodes, A.J. Cralle (she, her), Bella Smith ⭐, Gabriela Trofin-Tatár, Bruce Coulter, Jerry Dwyer, Harry Hogg, A.H. Mehr, TzeLin Sam, Jason Edmunds, Nancy Santos, Brandon Ellrich, Linda Lum, Muchaneta Madondo, Holly Emery, Deborah Joyce Goodwin, barry robinson, Jeff Hutchings, Karen Schwartz, Lynn L. Alexander.

--

--

John Hansen
Fiction Shorts

Freelancer, poet, and short fiction writer, who loves experimenting with different styles and genres. Writing is in my soul and it won't leave!