Drabble Challenge

The Best Bud

Nanya Sands
Fiction Shorts
Published in
1 min readJun 19, 2024

--

A grassy graveyard
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

Word of the day: Promise

“I didn’t tell you about the time I caught the boys smoking under the stairs,” Dan reminisces, shoveling dirt off a tombstone. “I was reminded of that night at Kigly’s when we were so drunk old Matty didn’t know what to do with us.”

He chuckles, pausing to look at the tombstone. “To be fair, they promised to behave. But you know boys.”

Dan blinks, pinching his nose.

“We were once like that, weren’t we?” His voice breaks. “I hope life gives them more time than it gave us.”

“I miss you so much, buddy. You were the very best.”

--

--

Nanya Sands
Fiction Shorts

Independent marketer and digital nomad/ Shares thoughts about life/ Interested in growth and people.