Fiction / Drabble / Challenge

The Case of the Missing Ice Cream

Grandma comes across a crime scene

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

--

The random word for the day is unit.
The first sentence must be:
There was no ice cream in the freezer…

Three kids enjoying their ice cream while making a mess.
AI image generated via Bing Copilot Designer by the author.

Drabbles are works of fiction of exactly 100 words. No more. No less.
Please stay on the page for 30 seconds or more, so the stories are counted as read. Please read, highlight, clap, comment — let us know you’ve been here! Thank you!

There was no ice cream in the freezer because it was all over the counter, the floor, the kitchen table and the faces of Tommy and his cousins Bailey and Elise. Even the AC unit was spattered with chocolate chip and cookies and cream.

Grandpa had fallen asleep while watching a fairly boring ballgame.

“What is the meaning of this?” Grandma shouted.

“That owl next door kept me up all night,” said Grandpa.

“The ice cream was delicious,” said Tommy.

“All right. Let me have some,” said Grandma. “while I watch all of you clean everything up including your faces!”

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.