The Fuchsia Door

Sale of the century

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2024

--

A Drabble is a work of fiction that is exactly 100 words. No more. No less.

Image Credit: Canva Pro

Today’s random word is friendship, and we had to use the first sentence, I would have sworn there wasn’t a door there yesterday.

If you stay on this page for 30 seconds, clap at least once, highlight a passage, and comment, I get paid. It’s that simple.

I would’ve sworn there wasn’t a door there yesterday. Sure, I wasn’t in top form having stopped at the local on my way to the showing. And, yes, I had a few more sips of Macallan than I’d planned, but for the friendship, and Buchanan was buying. The last time that happened old Seamus McIntyre had just gotten married… nigh on forty years ago.

Drunk or no, who could forget a door like that? Flaming fluorescent fuchsia and covered in flowers? I might’ve been a little tipsy, but I wasn’t blind drunk!

Wait a darned second! I bid how much?

One of the most powerful drabbles I’ve read is this one by Emma Vincent.

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
Fiction Shorts

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication