The Importance of Hair

The one thing that I inherited from my grandmother

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Fiction Shorts

--

Drabble word for the day ‘wave’

Credit TungArt7 on Pizabay

My 100 word drabble submitted to Fiction Shorts deals with the inner workings of my family when I was a youth.

The featured word of the day ‘wave’ plays a big part in it.

My family saga reads like this:

My grandmother had a shock of beautiful gray hair with a natural wave in the front.

I didn’t get lucky enough to inherit her beautiful hair.

Just the wave.

I had red hair.

Like a clown.

My older cousin made fun of me because of my wave.

He had straight brown hair; so did his little brother and his mom and dad.

I told my grandmother I was ashamed of my hair.

“Why?” she asked me.

“My cousin teases me,” I answered.

My grandmother dramatically tossed her beautiful head of wavy gray hair and pronounced,” Your cousin has no class.”

For a serious and interesting drabble read from Dawn Smiles

CLICK HERE

Join Fiction Shorts:

Fiction Shorts — Medium

--

--

Brian Dickens Barrabee
Fiction Shorts

Very much involved with the world and likes nothing better than writing about its absurdities. Award winning author who guarantees a laugh or two a story.