The Other Side of the Street

Compassion has no type

Nanya Sands
Fiction Shorts
2 min readMay 30, 2024

--

An old man bent over a journal at a coffee shop
Photo by Johan Mouchet on Unsplash

This is a story of 100 words. When you stay for more than 30 secs, your visit counts as a read.

Word of the day: Hardware

For the first time in weeks, Dennis looks forward to a night of fun. But as he closes the hardware store and heads out with the boys, he glimpses Mr. Smith sitting by himself in the coffee shop on the other side of the street.

“Don’t do it,” warns Mathias. “He’s only going to mope about his dead daughter.”

But Dennis knows grief as a funny guest.

“I’ll catch up, guys.”

“It’s your funeral.”

Dennis enters the shop and quietly takes a seat.

Mr. Smith looks up. He shows Dennis the photo of a little girl.

“My daughter… she died.”

Nanya Sands © 2024. All rights reserved

I found you a must read thriller

Welcome to my feast of drabbles

Drabbles

9 stories

Join in the quest of unveiling semantic mysteries at Fiction Shorts

I came here hardly believing I could write a sensible story from 100 words. There were days the story didn’t stick and I struggled to force it. I got really lucky on other days I found the story waiting for me. But I’m grateful for every prompt to turn the creative wheels. Thankful to the folks at Fiction Shorts and thankful tothese amazing writers who engage with my pieces, helping me to look forward to the next prompt with joy. You guys are the real inspiration that keep the ink flowing. Let me know if you want to be added or removed from this list. Thanks.

Randy Pulley Nancy Oglesby CJ Coop Denée King Eko B Nicolas Ramis🦎 Julia A. Keirns Pooja Viswanathan Jason Edmunds S. Douglas Hall @jennifermorrison Shain E. Thomas (very resilient in his engagement) Nancy S Rust Robin MS Sawyer Kuhl, the Quiet Dad Forevóuare Stephen Dalton Amir Bibi (Ameer) JD's Stories From the Mountain

--

--

Nanya Sands
Fiction Shorts

Travel is my jam, stories are the wheels. Digital nomad leaving joyful footprints everywhere.