Fiction / Drabble / Challenge

The Story of Mary Jane

A journey to Calaveras County in 1986

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

--

The random word for the day is instrument.
Today’s setup is:
You spot an old flame at a rock concert

The lead singer of an 1980s rock group sings before a crowd at an outdoor summer night concert.
AI image generated via Bing Copilot Designer by the author.

Drabbles are works of fiction of exactly 100 words. No more. No less.
Please stay on the page for 30 seconds or more, so the stories are counted as read. Please read, highlight, clap, comment — let us know you’ve been here! Thank you!

The Journey concert was about to start when Joe got his first whiff of what was once a familiar aroma.
“What’s that smell?” his daughter Annie asked.
It’s called Mary Jane.”

The show went on. There was only one instrument that was affecting Joe. The drumbeats felt like daggers going through his heart.

She bumped into Joe on the way out.
“Hey Joe, what do you know?”
Mary Jane?”
“Yeah, the red hair is all gone now.”
Then she was gone, too.
“Who was that?” Annie asked.
Just someone I once knew.
“I can still smell that stuff,” said Annie.

Let’s listen to Steve Perry sing one of the songs he sang that night in Angel’s Camp.

--

--

Jerry Dwyer
Fiction Shorts

I read books and then travel to places I read about. And I bring my camera with me.