The West Is Surely Wild

A walk is always an adventure

Bernadette E Wallace
Fiction Shorts

--

Today’s word is remind. The twist is the story must be a western!

Image credit: Adobe Stock Images

There’s jus some things not meant for a youngins’ eye.

I got use to menfolk spittin’ in the dirt.

Ma and me’s skirts dragging thru that same filthy mud.

“Lift your hem, Cora, and mind the manure,” Ma reminds me.

I’m gittin’ better rememberin’.

We hurry down the dusty main drag, towards McGrath Mercantile.

My best friend, Mary Williams, waves from the doorway of the post office.

Errand runnin’ is somethin’ we both dislike.

Maybe we can jump the creek later, after supper.

Ma gasps.

She spins me round so fast my hat falls off!

Sheriff jus hung a man.

This is the challenge for July 6, it’s my first western!

Check out Mike Range’s Drabble, where he leaves us guessing!

If you haven’t tried writing a story of exactly 100 words, you simply must!

Thanks very much for reading!

© 2024 Bernadette E Wallace

--

--