FICTION | DRABBLE WRITING PROMPT | RANDOM WORD

The Wounded Rabbit

In the animal world, some things never change

Stephen Dalton
Fiction Shorts
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Random Word Drabble Challenge Day 67 Word Is Feline.

A white cat stands by the woods looking back at the camera, as if hesitating or waiting for the human to follow.
A white cat stands by the woods looking back — Created with Bing AI image generator.

A drabble is exactly 100 words, no more, no less. Since drabbles are so short, please remain on the page for at least 30 seconds. Leave a comment, highlight something that interests you, and clap up to 50x if you liked it.

The feline made a beeline for the woods. Hesitating, she looked back.

It reminded me of a Lassie episode I watched as a kid. Timmy had fallen into a well, and Lassie did the same thing, so I followed.

Before long, we came to a bunny rabbit caught in a snare. I thought I might be robbing someone of dinner, but I let him out. His leg was injured, and he couldn’t hop.

I carried him to the vet in my hoodie’s pocket. Snow White followed.

I decided we’d be the Three Musketeers.

“All for One and One for All!”

For this drabble, the random word to build the story around is “feline.”

Thanks to Nancy Oglesby and Fiction Shorts for the daily challenge.

--

--

Stephen Dalton
Fiction Shorts

Stephen Dalton is a retired US Army First Sergeant with a degree in journalism from the University of Maryland. Top Writer in Investing, Business, & Bitcoin!